Perryville Car Crash Lawyers are keeping abreast of a story involving a
rollover car accident on June 8 which injured two people. The accident
occurred on Highway U.S. 61 just north of Perry County Road 801.
According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol's Online Traffic Crash Report
the driver of the vehicle, Kaylee R. Emmendorfer, 21, veered off to the
right shoulder of the road, and then overcorrected. The resulting motion
caused the 1995 Mitsubishi 3000 GT to go off the left side of the road,
and roll over. Ms. Emmendorfer sustained moderate injuries, but the passenger
in the vehicle, Seth A. Adams, 22, was seriously injured in the crash.
Both people were taken by ambulance to Perry County Memorial Hospital.
While still at the hospital, Emmendorfer was charged with driving while
intoxicated, and second-degree assault in connection to the crash. As
all Perryville Auto Accident Attorneys are aware, the severity of the
penalty, if Emmendorfer is found guilty, depends on whether or not this
is her first offense. As she is only 21, we sincerely hope that it is.
For a 1st DUI conviction, Missouri law imposes a jail term of up to six
months, a fine of up to $500, a 30 day full license suspension, and a
60 day restricted license after the 30 day full suspension. There is also
a $45 license reinstatement fee to be considered.
If this is a person's second offense, she could face up to a year in
jail, a fine of up to $1000, a one year license suspension and an ignition
interlock device required after her license has been reinstated. And of
course, the $45 reinstatement fee. If the second offense occurs within
five years of the previous offense, there could be a five year license
Recent changes to Missouri's laws, effective August 28, 2010, not only
made DWI penalties stricter, they established DWI courts to facilitate
treatment for repeat offenders and drivers with high blood-alcohol levels. These
DWI court programs consist of judicial supervision, drug testing, continuous alcohol monitoring,
substance abuse traffic offender program compliance, and other forms of
For more information on DWI penalties, visit the
Missouri Department of Revenue.
The Perryville Personal Injury Firm of Aaron Sachs and Associates has handled
many cases for victims who were injured or killed in drunk driving accidents,
and as a result we do not think these laws are too strict at all.
Here are some tips for young people who have just reached drinking age:
• Appoint one non-drinking friend as the designated driver before
the party starts. Frequently there will be someone in your circle of friends
who is not a big drinker, and will be delighted to take on this position.
• Stay home!! If a friend gets drunk at your house, call them a cab,
invite them to spend the night, or be a real friend by taking away their car keys.
• Do not get into a car with an intoxicated friend--it could be your
life on the line.
Attorney meetings by appointment only
Southeast Missouri Car Crash Lawyers want to remind you--friends don't let friends drive drunk.